So I know I have neglected my faithful readers.  I’m sorry.  Life is busy.  Which also means there’s many more posts in the making… be patient my friends.

This has actually been a topic that has been on my mind since probably day one of the Story of My LIfe blog.  This happens to be the issue of overusing of acronyms.

This tends to happen a lot on Facebook or Twitter (I think Twitter is actually to blame since you can only use so many characters in each tweet) or other social networks.  It goes back to the use of jk, lol or wtf (which if you don’t know what those mean…. come out of your cave and get with it).  So jk is actually understandable.  We say just kidding in conversation, so to save time, we naturally shorten it.  Lol pissed me off for a while.  No body says that.  Doesn’t haha or a smiley work enough?  But once again, I succumb to it and now use it in texts and Facebook comments.  The issue is not with these acronyms.  The issue is the fact that people have taken it way overboard.  Actually, beyond overboard and into the realm of absolutely ridiculous!  I would like to take the time to list some of the more recent stupid acronyms I’ve seen… and of course give my comments.

ROFL  (Rolling on the Floor Laughing):  The phrase doesn’t actually bother me as much as the fact that the usage is probably never used appropriately.  I KNOW you’re not actually rolling on the floor laughing.  Rarely do people put anything on a public post that actually is deserving of such attention.  If you actually are rolling on the floor laughing… knock it off… it’s not that funny.

ROFL COPTER (Rolling on the Floor Laughing Can’t Operate Properly Till Eyes Refocus):  I don’t have to say much about this.  Just shut up!  This makes it to my top ten list of the dumbest things I’ve ever heard.

TGIATDW (Thank God it’s a Three Day Weekend):  Ok seriously?  Why do you even need to make this into an acronym?  Just say the damn thing!  Or how about you stop trying to rip off ABC’s weekly sitcom montage TGIF.

NIFOC (Nude in front of computer):  Ok so I didn’t actually see this one used.  It came up when I Googled rediculous acronyms.  The title of the article was “25 More Sexting Acronyms Parents Should Know”.  You can read it for yourself here.  It’s actually embarassing if people actually use them (not to mention that I think the term “sexting” is ridiculous enough).

So I’m sure that there are a ton more out there.  For the sake of the length of this post I’ll leave it at that.  Don’t post dumb acronyms on my page.  I might de-friend you.